A park on one side, Montague Road on the other

Davies Park is already there — grass, trees and a Saturday farmers' market, not an artist's impression. Orleton faces it on one side and Montague Road on the other. Developer Traders in Purple, display suite at 6 Pidgeon Close (entered from the 305 Montague Road driveway). Two-bedroom apartments from $1,600,000, and there is no one-bedroom.

This building's character is in its price list: area, aspect, parking and storage written out lot by lot, and not a word about bathroom counts or delivery. What is worth a few minutes is what that transparency buys, and how to fill the silences.

Orleton above the Brisbane River — artist's impression

$1,600,000from, two bedrooms · no one-bedroom

Suburb data · WEST END

How quickly West End apartments move

The figures below come from public suburb platforms, read 28 September 2026.

Median unit price
$920,000+17.2% over 12 months (+$135,000)
Median weekly unit rent
$770about $640 across Brisbane
Gross unit yield
3.93%South Brisbane 4.75%
Median days on market, units
18 days
Population
14,730about 3 km from the CBD
Entry price here
$1,600,000about 1.7× the suburb's unit median

Two things read together. West End apartments turn over in 18 days and have added 17.2% in a year, so demand in this suburb is structurally firm. And this building's entry price is about 1.7 times the suburb's unit median — what is for sale is not "a West End apartment" but a new building opposite a park, so the table's yield does not transfer to it.

What is for sale · 305 MONTAGUE ROAD

From two-bedroom to Pavilion, how the list reads

Prices are from the McGrath price list dated 4 August 2026.

TypeConfigurationInternal areaPrice range
2 bed + MPR2 bath, 1 carfrom 97 m²$1,600,000 – $2,075,000
2 bed + MPR2 bath, 2 car—$1,850,000 – $2,465,000
3 bed + MPR2 bath, 2 car—$2,675,000 – $3,430,000
3 bed + MPR (Pavilion, north, levels 13–19)3 bath, 2 carup to 182 m²$2,975,000 – $4,950,000

There is no one-bedroom, and entry is $1.6 million with no small stock underneath — the first thing to understand here. Types 1, 3 and 8 are two-bedroom plus MPR; Type 6 carries a study; Types 7, 10 and 11 are three-bedroom plus MPR, the last two being the north-facing Pavilions.

On bathrooms: the McGrath list does not state them. The developer's listing describes the two-bedrooms as two-bathroom and the Pavilions as 2.5 — figures that belong to the contract floor plan, so check the plan rather than the listing.

Aspect is marked per apartment on the floor plates: Mt Coot-tha and the river, city and river, river and Milton, or low-density housing. The south and south-west stock is the cheaper stock — Australian light written into a price list, not a discount. Parking is listed per apartment, mostly two spaces, some lower floors one, and two spaces are either tandem or side by side, which matters at seven in the morning. Storage is listed too, and some apartments have none.

Living room
Kitchen and dining

Delivery and contract · TRADERS IN PURPLE

A transparent price list, a silent delivery date

  1. Status

    Apartments.com.au still marks the project pre-construction; the catalogue records it as plans approved.

  2. Builder

    No builder is named separately from the developer on the project website; the listing claims an in-house construction team and a "100% completion rate" — the developer's words, not a contractual commitment for this building.

  3. Sunset clause

    None appears in the marketing.

  4. Completion

    No document states one.

On holding costs, the 4 August 2026 price list sets out the body corporate per apartment but does not state the period:

ItemFigureNote
Body corporate (per apartment)$9,147 – $12,129annual or quarterly is not stated

Until the disclosure statement makes the period explicit, it is a number without a calendar, and the two readings differ by a factor of four. Ask. Council rates, contents insurance and utilities sit on top; Queensland stamp duty is extra.

ROOFTOP & DISPLAY SUITE · ORLETON

A 360-degree rooftop, on a building not yet started

The brochure and apartments.com.au describe a 360-degree rooftop:

  • 20-metre infinity pool
  • Magnesium hot and cold plunge
  • Sauna
  • Outdoor rain shower
  • Gym
  • Yoga lawn
  • Fireplace
  • Barbecue
  • Private dining room

Those are renders of a building that has not started.

What can be inspected is the display suite: Traders in Purple opened it at 6 Pidgeon Close in mid-August 2026 with a full-size kitchen, living room, bathroom and main bedroom. The roof cannot be stood on yet.

The brochure quotes executive director George Geagea saying every apartment faces a view. Views still vary by apartment, and the floor plate is the evidence — which is exactly what makes this price list useful: aspect, parking and storage are written out lot by lot, so a buyer can verify before signing.

The 20-metre infinity pool
Rooftop plunge pools

Location · WEST END

The park is already there

Location: Orleton, 305 Montague Road, West End — map data © OpenStreetMap contributors
Davies Park
oppositewith a Saturday farmers' market
Boundary Street dining
on foot
Ferry and the green bridge
within a walk
Montague Road
direct to South Brisbane and the CBD
West End's day-to-day retail and supermarkets
walkable

The developer's listing on a-d.com.au says "within Brisbane State High catchment". That is marketing. Brisbane State High's catchment is negotiated and its boundaries can change, and West End State School manages enrolment. Nothing in the McGrath list or the brochure establishes that this address falls inside any school's catchment. Check the contract address on EdMap for the year the child enrols. Somerville House and St Laurence's College are private-school geography, not catchments.

Who it suits · ORLETON

Who it suits, and who should think again

Suits: buyers who want West End and value a position directly opposite a park; families who need two car spaces and will choose a lot on whether they are tandem or side by side; and buyers willing to wait for something scarce, like the north-facing Pavilions on levels 13 to 19.

Think again: anyone under $1.6 million, because there is no one-bedroom to enter on; anyone focused on holding costs, where the levy figure has no stated period and the two readings are four times apart; anyone sensitive to aspect, since the cheaper stock is south and south-west; anyone who needs a delivery date, given the thin public record and the absent sunset clause; and anyone who should also weigh the further buildings coming in the same masterplan.

Before signing, have a solicitor confirm the sunset date, the levy period and the latest budget; check the bathroom count, aspect and whether the parking is tandem or side by side for your type; and treat the 4 August list as a dated document until a newer one replaces it. FX Home can supply the current schedule and the plan for a specific type.

Common questions · ORLETON

The four questions buyers ask

Is there a one-bedroom?

No. Entry is a two-bedroom from $1,600,000, with no smaller stock underneath — the first thing to understand about this building.

What is the body corporate?

The 4 August 2026 price list sets out $9,147 to $12,129 per apartment but does not state the period, and the two readings differ by a factor of four. Until the disclosure statement makes it explicit, it is a number without a calendar. Ask.

Is the parking tandem or side by side?

The price list states it lot by lot: mostly two spaces, one on some lower floors, and a pair is either tandem or side by side — which matters at seven in the morning. Storage is listed too, and some apartments have none.

When is completion?

No document states one, no sunset clause appears in the marketing, and apartments.com.au still marks the project pre-construction. A buyer who needs a delivery date should get it in writing before contract.

General information only — not financial, legal or tax advice. All details are subject to the Contract for Sale and the disclosure documents. Prices and body corporate figures as at the McGrath price list dated 4 August 2026; suburb statistics read from public platforms on 28 September 2026, subject to the current price list.